Indian Badminton League: Day 1 HighlightsPune Pistons edge Delhi Smashers 3-2 in opener

Pune Piston's Ashwini Ponappa/JF Nielsen beat Jwala Gutta/Koon Kien Keat 21-19 16-21 11-3 in the deciding mixed doubles contest.

NDTVSports | Thursday, 15 August 2013

After a gruelling Day 1 of the inaugural Indian Badminton League, Pune won three matches (1 men's singles, 1 women's singles, 1 mixed doubles) while Delhi won two (1 men's doubles, 1 men's singles).



Here is a recap of all the results today:

Men's singles: B Sai Praneeth (Delhi) beats Nyuyen Tien Minh (Pune) 21-16 21-20.

Women's singles: Juliane Schenk (Pune) beats Jindapon (Delhi) 21-15, 21-6

Men's doubles: Boon Hoeng tan/Kien Keat Koo (Delhi) beat Rupesh Kumar/Sanave Thomas (Pune) 21-13 21-16

- **Mixed Doubles:** Ashwini Ponappa/JF Nielsen (Pune) beat Jwala Gutta/Koo Kien (Delhi) Keat 21-19 16-21 11-3
- **00:30 (IST) Mixed doubles:** Pune Pistons' Ashwini Ponappa/JF Nielsen beat Delhi Smashers' Jwala Gutta/Koo Kien Keat 21-19 16-21 11-3. **Pune beat Delhi 3-2 in IBL opener.**
- **00:18 (IST)** Mixed Doubles: Jwala/KK Keat win 2nd game 21-16 against Ashwini/JF Nielsen, who won 1st game 21-19. Delhi Pune level 2-2.
- **23:57** (**IST**) Mixed doubles: Pune Piston's Ashwini Ponnappa/Joachim Fischer Nielsen win 1st game 21-19 vs Delhi Smashers' Jwala Gutta/Koo Kien Keat. Delhi Pune level 2-2.
- 23:30 (IST) Varma after beating Prannoy: We know each others' game well, so it was tough. I am happy to get a win for my Pune team.
- **23:23 (IST) Men's singles:** Pune Piston's Sourabh Varma beats Delhi Smashers' HS Prannoy 21-16 19-21 11-5. Pune draw level with Delhi 2-2 with one match to go.
- **23:14 (IST)** Delhi's HS Prannoy fights back to win second game 21-19 against Pune's Sourabh Varma. The match will go into the final third game, which will be decided by a race to 11 points.
- **22:50** (**IST**) Pune Piston's Sourabh Varma wins first game 21-16 against Delhi Smashers' HS Prannoy.
- **22:30 (IST)** Up next is Pune Pistons' Sourabh Varma vs Delhi Smashers' HS Prannoy in men's singles.
- **22:22 (IST) Men's doubles:** Boon Hoeng tan/Kien Keat Koo beat Rupesh Kumar/Sanave Thomas 21-13 21-16 to help Delhi Smashers take 2-1 lead over Pune Pistons.
- **22:08 (IST) IBL FACTOID:** A race to 21 will decide the game in the points scoring system in the competition. Also if the match goes into deciding third game, it will be a race to 11 points that will seal the winner.

22:00 (IST) Men's doubles: Boon Hoeng tan and Kien Keat Koo win first game against Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas 21-13 to take 1-0 lead for Delhi Smashers over Pune Pistons.

21:34 (IST) Women's singles: Juliane Schenk beats Jindapon 21-15, 21-6 to help Pune pull one back against Delhi. Contest level at 1-1 now between Delhi Smashers and Pune Pistons

21:17 (IST): Pune Piston's Juliane Schenk (Germany) takes a 1-0 lead after winning first game 21-15 over Delhi's World No.15 Nichaon Jindapon (Thailand).

20:54 (IST) After the win, Sai Praneeth says, "It was a upset and I am very happy. The new point system can be tricky for anyone. It was good to have an experienced player like Jwala in our dugout. She helped me to calm down."



20:47 (IST): Delhi Smashers have taken a 1-0 lead as B Sai Praneeth beats Nyuyen Tien Minh of Pune 21-16 21-20.

20:41 (IST): Nyuyen Tien Minh fights back in the second game to lead Praneeth 15-12

20:30 (IST): Nyuyen Tien Minh of Vietnam is ranked 7th in the world. He lost to Lin Dan in the World Badminton Championships in the semi-final in China last week.

20:26 (IST): Delhi's Praneeth wins the first game against Minh of Pune 21-16.

20:19 (IST): Delhi's Praneeth is leading Pune's Minh in black and yellow 12-10 in the first game.

20:14 (IST): Order of play - Men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles, men's singles and mixed doubles.

20:09 (IST): B Sai Praneeth (Delhi) takes on Tin Minh Nyugen (Pune) in the 1st match of the day.

19:58 (IST): Delhi, led by Jwala Gutta, walkout in their red outfits while Pune follow in black and yellow. Ashwini Ponappa is their icon player. Both teams line up on court.

19:30 (IST): The million-dollar event gets a glittering start with a bunch of dancers from Norway showcasing their talent.

18:30 (IST): Bollywood singer Mika Singh will entertain the crowd at the grand opening ceremony of the cash-rich league along with Neeti Mohan and other international stars.



Pistons and Delhi Smashers, led by two of

India's doubles specialists, Ashwini

Matches start from **20:00** (**IST**). Here are the two teams:

Delhi Smashers - Daren Liew, HS Prannoy, Sai Praneeth, Arundhati Patwane, Boon Hoeng tan, Kien Keat Koo, V Diju, Nichaon Jindapon, Prajakta Sawant

Pune Pistons - Nyugen tien Minh,
Saurabh Verma, Anup Sridhar, Juliane
Schenk, Joachiam Fischer Nielse, Sanave
Thomas, Arun Vishnu, Wee Kiong Tan,
Rupesh Kumar

It's first day first show for the Indian
Badminton League (IBL) today. The Pune

Ponnappa and Jwala Gutta, will be in action. Jwala and Ashwini though will feature only in the Mixed Doubles in the tie, as Women's Doubles isn't a part of the competition.

The million-dollar Indian Badminton League, trumpeted as the sport's richest event, will be played over a fortnight between six city teams, using a more attacking style of play designed to excite the fans.

The standard two-point gap to win a game has been abandoned in favour of a race to 21 points for the first two games and 11 points for the decider, if needed. There will also be a minute's commercial break after the seventh and 14th points in the first two games and after the sixth point in the decider.

Each team, comprising four foreign players, six Indians and one upcoming Indian junior, will play on a home-and-away basis in the preliminary league, with the top four qualifying for the semi-finals.

All ties, including the August 31 final in Mumbai, will have five matches -- two men's singles, and one each in women's singles, men's doubles and mixed doubles.

Former India cricket captain Sunil Gavaskar, a keen badminton enthusiast, is linked to the Mumbai franchise which will play against teams from Pune, Lucknow, Delhi, Bangalore and Hyderabad.

